RSS

The Importance of Research, Experience, and Goofing Off

07 Jun

Image

Warning: Copious Personal Anecdote ahead. If hearing about another person’s life causes you indigestion or chronic migraine then please consult your nearest doctor. Otherwise enjoy.

Research is integral to the writing process. How else would we figure out:

Image

How one should prepare for a trip through dangerous locales, (like Central Europe.)

Or

Image

Fascinating facts about exotic animals.

Or

Image

How to get the FBI to come to your house.
(I swear officer, I’m a writer not a murderer!)

As frustrating as it may seem at times, research always proves to be a boon. Sometimes learning what you don’t know can be just what one needs to get themselves out of a rut. A while back I learned the joy of this discovery and brought it up whenever possible.

During one such conversation, a friend of mine said. “I’ve written a book already so I know how much research I need.” Knowing he was feeding me a question, I bit the hook and asked “how much?” He smirked and what he said next haunts me to this day.

“None at all,” he said with a smile. “I don’t need to research anything. It’s my world, and therefore it’s my rules. So what if it doesn’t make sense, it makes sense to me.”

As someone who stays up at ungodly hours, cycling through random Wikipedia pages for any scrap of information, you could guess my general reaction. After much frustrated stuttering he raised his hand to defend himself.

“Well, maybe not research in the regular sense. See, I watch a lot of movies. I play videogames all the time, and I often spend hours and hours doodling.”

I smirked at him and said, “sounds like procrastination to me.”

He shrugged and replied, “Maybe so. But it helps me write.”

We then changed the subject but what he said nagged in the back of my mind. How in the Seven Hells could someone procrastinate and still have the wherewithal to churn out a story? It bothered me to no end, so much so that I couldn’t bring myself to write. So I put on one of my favorite movies which I won’t mention here*.

During the movie, the protagonist is being chased by a terrible beast. Mid-flight, they and a friend rush into a thorny forest where they hope to elude their attacker. The assailant peeks in, hoping to catch a glimpse of its prey and tries to get at the protagonists through the holes in their defense.

As I watched this scene I remember I wrote a similar scene in my story. The more I saw, the more I realized I wrote this scene almost word for word.

That’s when it clicked: Yes my friend was procrastinating, but the way he did it gave him fuel to write his stories. And if what we enjoyed could be used to create, then what we did could do the same as well.

Image

A friend of mine “researching” what it’s like to have a mustache.

Silly as the above picture makes it sound, sometimes little things like this can make or break a story. Chuck Palahniuk (author of Fight Club) once said that watching a guy paint a store window helped him write (full information here. It’s a good one).

I know writers tend to be an introverted bunch so this last bit of advice may seem a bit overwhelming. However, if you go outside and try something new, you’ll always be richer for the experience.

Research comes in many forms and I think it’s worth a try to do any of the three. If you have trouble with research, I say start with looking up stuff you think is cool. If you don’t like watching movies or procrastinating then set aside your work for all of five minutes and goof off. If you’re not comfortable with trying new things then try something you like in a different manner and you may end up surprising yourself.

So go out and research, for the only wrong way is to not do it at all.

So how do you all like to research? Do you have something that always gives you a muse? Does a particular type freak you out to the core? Is there something you would like to try? Let me know in the comments. Otherwise, have a nice day.

(*The movie is The Land Before Time)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 7, 2013 in Advice, On Writng, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Importance of Research, Experience, and Goofing Off

  1. Richard Razo

    June 16, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    My research is from my studies of development psychology. I characters behave according to the stage they are in at that particular point in their lives.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Tupelo Press

Live from the Loft

EerdWord

the Eerdmans blog

Living In Italy.Moving To Italy. Loving In Italy. Laughing In Italy.

"American Expat In Italy. A Hysterical Struggle With Language, Love, And Culture"-Probably Someone

thebookkahuna

Just another WordPress.com site

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

TheCoevas official blog

Strumentisti di Parole/Musicians of words

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Street Photographer Blog

“I am not an artist. I am an image maker.” – Thomas Hoepker

Valourbörn

Where heroes are born.

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Street of Dreams

A literary blog of poet, playwright and essayist Rachael Stanford

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

A Journalist's Fantasy

Learning the ropes of the digital age, while staying true to my love of words

C.N. Faust

Writer of Fantasy and Horror

The Favorite Aunt

Feminism in the Family

