RSS

Fear of Writing – How to put words on the paper

11 Jun

 

wallpaper-1989717
Hey everyone, sorry for the massively late update.

If you’re like me then you’re a twenty something year old individual who spent most of his life in school. And, if you’ve experienced that, chances are you know what it’s like to procrastinate like crazy. In my last post I talked about the benefits of procrastination but keep in mind that even research needs to be kept on check.

I once read that, as an Aquarius, I am one who lives an Ivory Tower existence. In essence: I spend all my time looking out the top of my window and pontificate the meaning of existence and all that entails. All the while, the room remains unswept, the dishes pile up, and I never get any visitors because I smell like I haven’t bathed in years. In summary, if unchecked, I am doomed to the life of a smelly, unlikeable bore.

While I don’t take astrology seriously, I did find this to be an issue in my life. Too often had I told myself, “I’ll write after this episode,” and, fifteen episodes later, it’s twelve in the morning and I’ve no ambition to write. Either that, or I spent so much time “researching” that I never make the time to write.

This past year I knew this behavior wouldn’t fly, and I decided to make a change. I planned to write every single day, and to make progress even if it was just a few paragraphs. However, as someone who had never written on this scale before, how does one get to writing something as big as a novel?

Well, after weeks of never getting past the first page, my process boiled down to two rules.

Rule Number 1

At least 500 words a day.

When put into a word document, five hundred words comes out to about three, three sentence paragraphs. Honestly this can be a great exercise in and of itself because, not only are you writing, but you have three sentences to write what you want. You can get a lot accomplished, as I demonstrated with this paragraph.

Rule Number 2

Just Write

I could spend hours talking about how I would retroactively correct my writing. I could tell you about the many days I spent starting with a blank screen and, after hundreds of black printed letters, ended with a screen as blank as my grasp of Calculus. I could do that, or I could just write what I’m thinking and be done with it.

Part of the issue with writing is we want to get it right the first time. We want to make what’s in our heads be translated perfectly on the page. However, if you’ve ever tried that with a drawing, you’ll find that’s not always the case. Sometimes it takes more than one shot to write what you meant, but you’ll never find out what you need until you have a foundation. As I said in “Shitty First Draft,” that is your foundation.

That is all I have to offer: two simple rules. They carried me through all 309 pages of my Senior Project and I hope it serves you as well. If it doesn’t, well… I’m sure you’ll figure it out.

—-

So how do you guys get to writing? Do you just write? What inspires you to write? Do you have rules for your first draft?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2013 in Advice, On Writng

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Fear of Writing – How to put words on the paper

  1. nmknippenberg

    June 14, 2013 at 5:10 am

    Great post! My writing process is super nerdy and slightly creepy to the casual observer. I sit in a dark room playing music that fits the mood of my chapter/scene. This can mean I’m blasting the Gregorian Chant youtube channel and writing with the light of a candle.

    You just have to make the writing fun–even if it means freaking out a roommate or two 😉

     
  2. Richard Razo

    June 16, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    I am too old to worry about getting it right the first time. I know that I will still be dissatisfied even after the fourth or fifth draft so I just write.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Tupelo Press

Live from the Loft

EerdWord

the Eerdmans blog

Living In Italy.Moving To Italy. Loving In Italy. Laughing In Italy.

"American Expat In Italy. A Hysterical Struggle With Language, Love, And Culture"-Probably Someone

thebookkahuna

Just another WordPress.com site

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

TheCoevas official blog

Strumentisti di Parole/Musicians of words

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Street Photographer Blog

“I am not an artist. I am an image maker.” – Thomas Hoepker

Valourbörn

Where heroes are born.

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Street of Dreams

A literary blog of poet, playwright and essayist Rachael Stanford

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

A Journalist's Fantasy

Learning the ropes of the digital age, while staying true to my love of words

C.N. Faust

Writer of Fantasy and Horror

The Favorite Aunt

Feminism in the Family

