RSS

Pre-Publishing Institute: We’re on in 9.

05 Jul

wallpaper-1989717

It’s July! A month named after a warmonger who was brutally betrayed by his best friends.

It’s also the month in for the Tour De France, National Hot Dog Month, and Harry Potter’s birth-month.

With so many happening and histories, is it any wonder July is also known as Anti-Boredom Month? It’s true, and for the last few years of my life I’ve done all I can to keep myself busy during the middle of summer. Back in college I used to take on a specific project and make it my goal to get it done. However, now that I am out of college, it is time to move on to other pursuits.

So, you may wonder, what could a student, fresh out of college, hope to accomplish this summer? If you said find a job you would be right, to some degree. However, if you have followed me for the last few weeks, or went to college with me, you’d know my latest pursuit is the University of Denver Publishing Institute (from here on out known as DPI, or Denver Publishing Institute.)

As Madisen Ray, DPI Alumni, describes in her article about the program:

Each summer, universities across the country play host to summer publishing programs. These intensive programs last approximately 4-6 weeks and focus on many areas of publishing such as editing, marketing, design, sales, and digital media among others… Don’t get sticker shock! These are graduate programs. I have a graduate certificate in publishing from the University of Denver, and it was worth every penny.

That is the essence of what I will expect for the following weeks to come. I can’t say too much about the program itself, or the homework given to us, but I can say that the majority of the opinions I’ve read claim that I will be quite busy. To be honest I wouldn’t have it any other way.

And that, my friends, is an introduction to my life during Anti-Boredom Month. In 9 days I will once again leave the comforts of my California home to the Mile High City, hoping to do my best, and get the most out of my time at DPI. Heck I’m so excited I’ve already packed my clothes.

—-

So what do you guys think? I plan on letting people know more about the program while I’m in said program. In the meantime, do you have any plans for July? Any goals, or aspirations?

Until next time.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Pre-Publishing Institute: We’re on in 9.

  1. Richard Razo

    July 5, 2013 at 8:47 am

    I plan to take as many days off as I can…I work all summer on issues that affect my teachers. However, that said…I plan to read as many books as I can get to before my teachers return to work.

     
    • writemindedrazo

      July 5, 2013 at 2:44 pm

      Nothing wrong with that. I know how busy you are and, quite honestly, you deserve a break from it every once in a while.

       
  2. emilyramos

    July 5, 2013 at 2:19 pm

    I am planning to finish another rewrite/edit of my WIP. 🙂 Good luck with the program!

     
    • writemindedrazo

      July 5, 2013 at 2:44 pm

      Well good luck with your WIP. I expect lots of good to come from it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Tupelo Press

Live from the Loft

EerdWord

the Eerdmans blog

Living In Italy.Moving To Italy. Loving In Italy. Laughing In Italy.

"American Expat In Italy. A Hysterical Struggle With Language, Love, And Culture"-Probably Someone

thebookkahuna

Just another WordPress.com site

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

TheCoevas official blog

Strumentisti di Parole/Musicians of words

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Street Photographer Blog

“I am not an artist. I am an image maker.” – Thomas Hoepker

Valourbörn

Where heroes are born.

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Street of Dreams

A literary blog of poet, playwright and essayist Rachael Stanford

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

A Journalist's Fantasy

Learning the ropes of the digital age, while staying true to my love of words

C.N. Faust

Writer of Fantasy and Horror

The Favorite Aunt

Feminism in the Family

